Alipay Denies Authorizing Peer’s Yuan-to-USDC Trading Test

Daily Feed
Alipay Denies Authorizing Peer’s Yuan-to-USDC Trading Test

Alipay says it did not authorize crypto trading through its payment network after Peer promoted a test service that paired yuan transfers between users with onchain USDC delivery. Peer described the arrangement as user-directed payments, not an Alipay partnership. That distinction does not show that Alipay approved the service.

  • Alipay called claims that it enables crypto purchases on third-party platforms “false and unauthorized.”
  • Peer reported 107 transactions, 45 buyers and about $7, 094 in volume.
  • Peer supplied the figures and transaction details, which have not been independently verified.
  • The reported activity and payment route do not prove Alipay integrated with or endorsed Peer.

Alipay denies authorizing the service

Crypto.news reported that Peer announced the test service on October 27, 2026. Alipay responded the next day with this statement:

“Claims that Alipay enables crypto purchases on third-party platforms are false and unauthorized, ”

Peer later said it had no formal partnership with Alipay. It said buyers sent yuan to individual sellers through the payment app, while USDC was delivered separately through Peer’s crypto settlement system.

A payment route does not amount to an integration or endorsement. But calling a transfer user-directed does not answer whether Alipay allows its service to be used for crypto trades. Alipay’s denial addresses authorization. The available information does not explain how it assesses individual transfers linked to such trades.

How Peer says the USDC trades worked

Peer said sellers first placed USDC, a digital token designed to track the U.S. dollar, in onchain escrow. That means the tokens were held on a blockchain until the conditions for release were met. Peer said the USDC went to the buyer’s wallet after the yuan payment was verified.

One operational question remains: a smart contract cannot see an Alipay transfer on its own. Peer has not explained who verified the offchain payment or how that verification triggered the contract to release the tokens.

Escrow explains how Peer held the USDC. It does not show that payment verification was reliable or that disputes and fraudulent payment claims were handled safely. The available details do not describe those procedures.

Peer’s reported figures are not Alipay-wide data

Peer said the service had been operating since August 21, 2026. It reported 107 completed transactions involving 45 buyers, with total volume of approximately $7, 094. Dividing that volume by the transaction count gives an average of about $66.30 per transaction. That figure is calculated from Peer’s numbers, not reported separately.

Crypto.news attributed the totals to Peer. Alipay did not publish or verify them. They cover only the activity Peer says took place through its test service, not crypto-related payments across Alipay’s network. Peer did not provide a seller count, transaction-size breakdown, failed-payment rate or dispute figures in the available information.

The reported timeline also calls for caution. Crypto.news dates Peer’s announcement to October 27 and Alipay’s denial to October 28, 2026, and says the service began on August 21, 2026. Those dates and the original posts have not been independently checked against primary records here.

Regulatory context remains specific, and incomplete

Crypto.news framed the dispute within China’s restrictions on virtual-currency trading and related financial services. It reported that the People’s Bank of China and seven other government departments issued updated restrictions in February 2026. It also said authorities outlined further anti-money-laundering measures in June targeting virtual-currency transactions, underground banking and cross-border financial crime.

The specific official documents, provisions and legal scope of those measures could not be confirmed from the records cited in that reporting. The report also does not state the year of the June measures. Those accounts do not establish how authorities would treat a particular user-to-user yuan transfer or whether any Peer users faced enforcement action.

Alipay also warned users to protect their funds and accounts when they encounter third-party offers to buy cryptocurrency. No account restrictions, investigations or penalties linked to Peer’s service were reported.

Key questions and answers

  • Did Alipay authorize Peer’s service?

    No. Alipay said claims that it enables crypto purchases through third-party platforms were false and unauthorized. Peer said it had no formal partnership with Alipay.

  • How did Peer say a trade worked?

    The buyer sent yuan to a seller through Alipay, while USDC was held in blockchain escrow. Peer said it released the tokens after verifying the payment, but did not say who performed the check.

  • How much activity did Peer report?

    Peer reported 107 completed transactions involving 45 buyers and approximately $7, 094 in total volume. The figures have not been independently verified.

  • Does the reported volume measure crypto activity across Alipay?

    No. It covers only activity Peer attributed to its test service and does not show the scale of crypto-related transfers across Alipay’s network.

The distinction is simple: a payment app can carry the yuan side of a trade without integrating with or endorsing the crypto service on the other side. Whether that use is permitted is a separate question. Peer’s description and reported transaction totals do not answer it. USDC vaults may offer another use for the stablecoin, but they do not settle the question either.

Share this article

Powered by ADBYTES

Advertise smarter.

Adbytes.Media is a transparent advertising network where advertisers reach real audiences and publishers, affiliates & everyday members earn ADBYTES tokens. Join the community and start earning today.

Back to Blog